Immigration Canada - PanCanadian Immigration Law Group

Questions to the Study Permit

Discussion in 'Studying in Canada' started by Andrey, May 4, 2014.

1. Andrey

Andrey New Member

Hello,

Could you please answer a couple of questions to the application for a Study Permit?

1. Question "Have you had any post secondary education (including university, college or apprenticeship training)?
    Should I mention the university, I am currently studying at or only if I've already graduated from any?

2. Section "Employment"

Should I mention here only my jobs, although it stands "Activity/Occupation"?

3. The financial information to the letter of acceptance stands, that the estimated cost for the academic year is 21,712 CAD (including tuition fees in the amount of 9200 CAD ) plus Books and school supplies will cost approx. 1000-1200 CAD (2semesters) plus Students should plan to bring additional funding for clothing, entertainment, transportation, dining out and other miscellaneous purchases.
    I could have 23600 CAD. Would it be enough or could they refuse my application, as it is not enough?
    Then how much should I have at least?

According to their website I have to submit bank statements for 4 months. If these aren't originally in English or in French, what exactly should be translated there? Do also references have to be translated?

5. Should I write a statement of purpose, if it stands only as an optional document?

Thanks in advance
    frank201601 likes this.
  2. Panusa

Panusa Administrator Staff Member

So I can't comment on your application specifically. But in general, one would put their current university studies, and only employment/jobs in the employment section ("activity" would refer generally to self-employment). Can't say on the funds as there is not enough information on cost of living, city, housing, etc. Everything but the numbers should be translated if possible. I always include a cover letter so that's a good idea.