Immigration Canada - PanCanadian Immigration Law Group

Citizenship Qualification for a Seafearer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Abiodun, Aug 14, 2014.

1. Abiodun

Abiodun New Member

Dear Forum members,
    I was just wondering if any member of the forum has an idea as to how the Citizen and Immigration Canada office will treat the citizenship qualification criteria and application of a permanent resident who works as a seafearer. I am a permanent resident of Canada since July, 2011 when I landed with my wife under the FSWP. We returned back to Africa after 2 weeks of picking up landing documents and returned finally in March 2012. Incidentally, I maintained my employment with the UK company I work for as a Senior Geophysicist on their seismic vessel which operates on waters of the world. My wife permanently lives in Canada while I keep going to work on waters of the world on a 5 weeks on and off basis. By this implication, while my wife will be qualified for citizenship application by March 2015, I will only be managing to close in on 500 days of physically being in Canada during the same period. My concern is what will happen to my residency status if I'm not able to make the mandatory 2 years before my 5 years PR expires. Please be aware that I remit my taxes on all earnings from this job to CRA and even just mortgaged a home for my family. Canada is the only place I know as home and the only country I resides since my landing apart from traveling to any part of the world where my vessel has operations. I have Bahamas Seamans book which shows records of my on and off period on each vessel I work on. I recently just picked up the Seafearer discharge book for Canadian few months ago to corroborate my entry and exit records. I also don't pay tax any where else apart from Canada except when my vessel operates on some waters of countries that charges taxes on their waters (e.g. Norway, UK, Denmark). Will I qualify for direct Citizenship application u